Cause and effect

Discussion non-related
[FnG] Marksman

Cause and effect

Postby [FnG] Marksman » Fri May 28, 2010 11:49 am

Well I suppose that was inevitable, really. The old PC I've been running for the last six years appears to have taken something of a disliking to the funky new 23" monitor I've paired it up with (oh how I love that screen...)

I was playing Guild Wars last night and having problems keeping the thing running (apologies to Kril for dropping out of that chat just as he came online). There were lots of glitchy textures popping up after five minutes of being in the game, then it would lock and force a reboot. I did a bit of testing with UT2004 to check and a similar pattern ensued.

Running at 1920x1080 is, I suspect, pushing the gfx card too much and it's either kaput, or about to go kaput. The whole system is starting to struggle now anyway, having had about three 'bonus' years of toil squeezed out of it.

I'm cashing in some shares next week anyway so I figure it's a sign that the time to update my system has arrived. :)

What's about par for gaming systems these days? What about noise and power consumption? Any parts or manufacturers I should definitely go for or avoid?
ImageImage

[FnG] James

Re: Cause and effect

Postby [FnG] James » Fri May 28, 2010 5:16 pm

What I am about to say is my own personal experience, but I would say stay away from ASUS... Yeah I know a lot of elite-geeks recommend them, but my experience with them has been terrible! Their customer support, I am convinced is an empty room with a phone in the middle sitting on an old wooden table, and that room is sound-proofed so that no-one ever hears the phone ring.

They also managed to somehow fanagle me out of a rebate I was due by using the excuse that my serial number no longer qualifies. And as the final straw, their software and driver support is very poor, they still don't have good Windows 7 support for much of their hardware.