Motherboard or PSU?

Discussion non-related
User avatar
[FnG] Malvos
Posts: 1357
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2004 7:36 pm
Location: Ottawa, ON, Canada
Contact:

Motherboard or PSU?

Postby [FnG] Malvos » Wed Jun 09, 2010 3:24 am

I need some help from the experts. I hit the power button and absolutely nothing happened, no fans, hard drives or POST. Following the directions on the OCZ website (OCZ GameXStream 700W) I disconnected power and jumpered the green/black wires to allow the PSU to power up. The case fans I left plugged in came on, as did the LED and fan on the PSU. The voltages all seemed to read correctly, if a little on the high side, could the issue still be the power supply or is it more likely the motherboard? Even though it doesn't boot, the SB_PWR LED on the board is lit solid with the power plugged in.

MB is an ASUS P5N32E-SLI plus board. Any other ideas? I'm going to see if I can find another supply lying around to see if that powers it up.

User avatar
[FnG] LcNessie
Site Admin
Posts: 5360
Joined: Sat May 07, 2005 11:44 am
Location: The Netherlands, Delfzijl
Contact:

Re: Motherboard or PSU?

Postby [FnG] LcNessie » Wed Jun 09, 2010 9:40 am

High tension (voltage) levels while unloaded are pretty common and nothing to worry about, provided it's within limits, of course. The tension tends to drop a bit under load. This does not mean that the PSU is not to blame, though. It could be fine while unloaded, but totally fail when you load the system, due to a bad capacitor or other failure. It sounds rather more unlikely, though.

A failed motherboard sounds more likely at this point, but as you are, I'm not absolutely sure either.

It could even be the little power switch or it's wiring. Have you tried to shortly short the pins on the motherboard where the powerswitch is connected? As an alternative you could temporarily replace it with the reset switch or any other switch for that matter. Just don't use a "constant on" switch like a standard light switch. Use a switch that's only on when pushed, and turns off again when it's released.

If you can, perhaps you could borrow another PSU from a friendly entity, rule it out completely, or test your PSU somewhere else. The PSU is the easiest to replace, usually, that's why I would start there...
With kind regards, Mathijs
Image
Image
WII: 8832 9602 6333 9837

User avatar
[FnG] Malvos
Posts: 1357
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2004 7:36 pm
Location: Ottawa, ON, Canada
Contact:

Re: Motherboard or PSU?

Postby [FnG] Malvos » Thu Jun 10, 2010 2:02 am

Plugging in a 400W generic PSU powered up the board, with CPU fan and drives all coming up, although it didn't have a PCIe power plug so I couldn't see it boot to Windows. Trying to see if OCZ will do anything to replace it, but it's passed its 3 yr warranty (by two months :gripe: ) so I might have to get a new one.

User avatar
[FnG] LcNessie
Site Admin
Posts: 5360
Joined: Sat May 07, 2005 11:44 am
Location: The Netherlands, Delfzijl
Contact:

Re: Motherboard or PSU?

Postby [FnG] LcNessie » Thu Jun 10, 2010 2:58 am

If all else fails, you could buy molex ==> PCIe adapters from your computer specialist shop. I'm not sure if every computer store hast them. I do know for a fact, however, that they exist.
With kind regards, Mathijs
Image
Image
WII: 8832 9602 6333 9837


Return to “Everything Else”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests