Page 1 of 1

Old School Gaming...

Posted: Mon Aug 11, 2014 11:10 pm
by Cuvs
I have no idea if anyone wants to have a go at this for a laugh...

I've setup a Quake 2 server, server address is cuvs.webhop.org

If you would like a copy of the game I have got one available at FTP://WWW.CUVS.WEBHOP.ORG - this should have the server address preconfigured in it, it should be a simple copy and then run the quake.exe.

If you are unfamiliar with direct FTP easiest way is to hit your alt key once logged in, go to view and then "open ftp site in file explorer" This will allow you to drag and drop the complete folder to your PC.

FTP Login is "quake"
Password is "fng"

Re: Old School Gaming...

Posted: Wed Aug 13, 2014 7:38 pm
by [FnG] RampantBunny
What's quake? :P

Re: Old School Gaming...

Posted: Thu Aug 14, 2014 8:36 am
by Cuvs
Ahh Ramps, you'd be too young to remember it... :wink:

Re: Old School Gaming...

Posted: Thu Aug 14, 2014 10:16 am
by [FnG] Hanno
Cuvs wrote:Ahh Ramps, you'd be too young to remember it... :wink:



More like he's too old and his memory has failed!

Re: Old School Gaming...

Posted: Thu Aug 14, 2014 1:04 pm
by Cuvs
Well yeah, I wasn't going to be that cruel...

BTW the version I've put up runs well on NV cards, open gl doesn't appear to work on ATI cards, I assume there must be a patch to make the gfx better for ATI gpus. I know ATI started support OpenGL a few years back but I guess the support isn't backwards compatible... I think the was a 3dnow patch, but the one I have is corrupt...

Re: Old School Gaming...

Posted: Fri Aug 15, 2014 11:50 pm
by [FnG] RampantBunny
Im so old school i wont go near OpenGL :P

Re: Old School Gaming...

Posted: Thu Aug 28, 2014 11:22 pm
by [FnG] Lambik
@Cuvs:

ATI and OPENGL is still working, but Microsoft is interfering here, they supply standard drivers (WDM) which do NOT support OPENGL.(OPENGL is NOT DirectX, so MS hates it, as it is competition)
Thing to do is to 'Remove' the driver, (also if opted to select 'remove driver files' as well)
reboot.
In my case the WDM driver did get installed again automatically, except when booting, there was first installed a basic driver.
so now it's possible to revert the driver to the basic driver, and from here on you can update the driver with an real AMD/ATI driver.

With minecraft I have experienced this problem too of having no OPENGL driver. It has taken me quite some time and lots of reading to figure it out.