I miss the old days...

Discussion related to Clan issues and activities.
[FnG] Hanno

I miss the old days...

Postby [FnG] Hanno » Sat May 19, 2012 11:24 am

Battlefield 3 is dead ...

We've now dropped down to just a couple of us playing bf3 on a wednesday evening, so its not really worth starting up.

Got me thinking about how great older games were, and to tell the truth they weren't, good maybe, but perhaps not great.
The difference between a great game and a good game is who you play with.

I started playing online games with Ultima online. We had a small but adult (18+) community of about 30ish people called OLD (Old Lucid Dreamers),
and we would get about 10 -15 people turn up on typical guild nights. There were no quests, just monster killing and building/decorating houses.
We made our own quests, dungeon crawls, tournaments up, and it was fun. We had about 18 months - 2 years.

That guild moved on to SWG for a while but ultimately although flash the gameplay was bland, so I dont think the guild held together 6 months.

At that time I started playing Unreal T, and ended up on a server run by a bunch of FnG loons. Magnolia asked me to join and I did.
How many years of great nights did we have at UT? I don't know but eventually the number of people dropped down to just a few die hards.

Parallel to UT, I was playing WoW for about 2 years? with my old OLD clan again. Again we had lots of fun when we were running quests together,
having our own tournaments etc. But the heavy duty raids (who wants to play 4 -6 hours of a raid in one sitting, and that ignores the logistics
of getting enough people to turn up) split the guild a bit, then one member started seeing (Sleeping with?) another member who just happened to be
the wife of a third member and the guild imploded. WoW was probably dead and done for me by then but the guild and the camercadirie didnt
carry forward to another game.